Interview with Jeremy Bolm of Touche Amore

I got to hear Touche Amore for the first time when the band played a show at Kafé 44 in Stockholm a while ago. It was a rejuvenating experience. Their sound put me back to the 90’s. In a good way. It’s passionate hardcore with a lot of influences from the indie pop world without losing the rawness. After been listening to their lp “To the beat of a dead horse” for a couple of days I felt that I had to send the band some interview questions. Their frontman and singer Jeremy Bolm wrote the answers.
Håll till godo.

Touche Amore with singer Jeremy Bolm Foto: Nicole C. Kibert

1. The first time I listened to your lp “To the beat of a dead horse ” I got a feeling of being a teenager again. Your sound reminded me of band from the 90’s like Lincoln or the swedish band Outstand. Is that something you have tried to achieve?
– We are definitely influenced by a lot of 90s post-hardcore/screamo bands. When we started that was the sound we wanted to focus on, but I think the hardcore kids inside of us also played a big role.
2. To me your lyrics is more literal and personal than the average hardcore song. What is your perspective on the lyrics?
– I just write whats on my mind or what I’m going through at that moment. I try not to sugarcoat things. I’m being direct for a reason.
3. You have recently been a member of the Deathwish inc family. Does that mean that Kurt Ballou is producing your next album?
– As much as we are all fans of Kurt’s recordings, we are not doing our record with him. We’re still securing the producer but if we get who we’re trying for, it’s going to be quite the incredible experience.
4. You can hear that your voice hasn’t been trained to sing, which I love. Please say that you’re keeping the raw sound of it on the next record as well. There so many bands that overproduce their albums.
– Oh wow, thats a compliment because I actually can not sing to save my life. If I could I wouldnt be playing punk music (kidding!). I wouldn’t worry about us overproducing anything. It’ll be a very raw and loud album.
5. Do you consider TA to be a political band?
– I do not. We have some political songs, but by no means is that what we’re trying to achieve.

6. What is the hardcore scene in LA like? Do you all know each other? Does the scene only consist of kids or is there older people like myself (older than 30) going to shows as well?
– The hardcore scene in LA is amazing. There’s so many people involved and if you’ve been around for a while you most likely know most people. There are older people for sure. Lots of guys in bands or that have been in bands come out and support younger bands all the time.

7. Alpha&Omega did a show here recently, which was great. And Nails ” Unsilent death” is one of my favourite records at the moment. What do you think of them as bands? What is your favourite band coming from Los Angeles?
– I’ve known Luis from A&O since he was like 14 years old. He’s one of my closest friends. I don’t listen to a lot of stuff like Alpha and Omega, but I love them. They have great energy and their riffs are hard as hell. Nails are also our boys and yeah, their records are super good. Right now my favorite band out of LA is Joyce Manor. They’re the newest 6131 band. They sound like if Jawbreaker and Weezer wrote a record together.
8. I was away from the hardcore scene in Sweden for almost ten years before I got my interest back a year ago. I got fed up with the feeling of being in the most homogenous of places. Everybody looking the same, eating the same, talking the same etc etc. Are you familiar with that feeling?
– I think thats the pretty much the scene in general across the world. It’s easy to pigeonhole the whole thing. You just have to hope that no matter how someone may look or what their diet may be, they’re still being their own person with their own thoughts.
9. When can we hear your new album?
– We’re hoping for a Spring release date. We record in Mid-February.
10. The year of 2010 is coming to an end. Name five records you have been listening to a lot during this year. They don’t have to be new ones.

The National - High violet (Jeremy's favorite)

Tokyo Police Club - Champ

Envy - Recitation

Burning Love - Songs for burning lovers

Arcade Fire -The suburbs

AJ
http://www.toucheamore.com/
http://twitter.com/#!/toucheamore
http://www.myspace.com/toucheamore
One Response to “Interview with Jeremy Bolm of Touche Amore”

  1. Hiya, I stumbled upon your internet site using Bing all the while looking for a very similar matter, your web site came up, it’s beneficial. We’ve book-marked so that you can favourites types|included with my own social bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

