Best of the best in the year of 2010 – top six!

This was the year when I really found interest in heavy music again. I went to hardcore shows, I went to metal shows and I actually started to BUY records again. It’s been fun. It’s like the heavy and aggressive music is more necessary today, when I have a busy and sometimes exhausting life, compared with my life a couple of years ago. My kids (I love you more than life) have forced me to find my way back to the kind of music that fills me with energy and helps me sweat out all that stress and anxiety we all have to deal with sometimes. The albums, ep’s and demos listed below have made 2010 a better year. I know I have missed a lot of great bands throughout the year but hey, there’s a new one waiting just around the corner.

The best of the best of 2010 was:

NAILS - Unsilent death

1. Nails “Unsilent death” was the best album coming out this year. Hardcore like hardcore should be played. Heavy, fast, hard and catchy in a very crusty way. Makes me wanna scream and destroy things. Well done Southern Lord Records!

2. Wormrot “Abuse”. Put Singapore on the grindcore map for good. Hell what a blast!

3. All pigs must die 12″. Angry. Heavy. Dynamic. We’ll hear more in 2011…

4. High on fire “Snakes for the divine”. The masters of sludge did it again.

5. Coke Bust “Lines in the sand”. The lp came out last year (which is the one I have) but the cd came out 2010. Awesome hardcore punk. Straight in the face. These guys don’t play fast, they play faster.

6. Watain “Lawless darkness”. You can hear they are satanists for real. Takes you on a trip to the darkness beyond cosmos.

Other great stuff worth mentioning.

Converge “Axe to fall”. I know it’s from 2009 but it’s so damn good it has to be here anyway. I haven’t really understood the greatness of this band until this year.

Kylesa “Spiral shadow”. One of my favorite bands. But I haven’t started to love this album as much as I love “Static tension” yet.

Kvelertak “s/t”. Norwegian godless punkmetal.

Arson Anthem “Security Notoriety”. Hardcore PUNK. Exemplary raw production.

Alpha & Omega “Life swallower”. Los Angeles metallic hardcore. What riffs.

Electric Wizard “Black masses”. Sounds like a… black mass.

Bombus “s/t”. Gothenburg doom groove.

Out of hope “Demo”. Swedish hardcore to come.

Southern Lord Records deserve the award for being this years best hardcore label. SLR could have had three more albums among the top six. Thou “Summit”, The Secret “Solve et coagula” and Masakari “Prophet feeds” are all fantastic.

This we’ll be on the best of list for 2011… Released in January.

2 Responses to “Best of the best in the year of 2010 – top six!”

  1. There are some interesting closing dates on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity however I will take hold opinion till I look into it further.

  2. Maybe the dates differ from the releases in your country. I appreciate your time. Don’t miss out on Thou.

Leave a Reply

